Starting TRT and, of Course, I Have a Question

The results are in!

Albumin = 5.1 (range = 3.5 -4.8 gm/dl)

SHGB = 35 (range = 10 - 80 nmoles/l)

Cortisol = 25.2 (range = 6.7 - 22.6 mcg/dl)

Total test = 387.1 (range = 193 - 950 ng/dl)

If you plug all of that into a calculator it means my bio-available test is 192 ng/dl. :confused:

Prescribed:
Dual testosterone 200mg/ml in two .4ml injections per week.

Arimidex .5mg capsule, take one with each injection.

This is my first time on TRT and I’m curious if those more informed than myself think the dosage seems appropriate. The main goal is fat loss, restore libido, strength, etc., I’m 5’7" or so with probably 20% - 25% bodyfat at 195 lbs, down from a recent 200+.

My first thought was the test injection was a bit high at 80mg, twice per week.

Testosterone dose is a bit high for a starting dose, you may not need that much. Most guys don’t.

Too much Adex for a starting dose too. Adex is powerful stuff, seriously. Browse the intermet and you’ll find plenty of guys who tanked their E2 with it. It’s best practice to start low and titrate up if necessary. Try .25mg after each injection to start.

Please read these stickies: [there are 7]

• advice for new guys <== note first paragraph
  • protocol for injections

Need more info about you as per the first sticky.

You should have had LH/FSH tested before starting TRT.

Labs: - do you have other lab work? [with ranges]
TT
FT
E2
PSA if over 40
LH/FSH
Prolactin if LH/FSH are low [expected]
TSH

Fat gain can be from low T and low thyroid function.

Labs: - do you have other lab work? [with ranges]

TT = 387.1 ng/dl (range = 193 - 950 ng/dl)

FT = (T4) 1.23 ng/dl (range = .8 - 1.8 ng/dl)
(T4 Thyroxine) 7.7 mcg/dl (range = 4.5 - 11.7 mcg/dl)
(T3 Free) 3.0 pg/ml (range = 2.0 - 4.4 pg/ml)
(T3 Total) 1.0 ng/ml (range = .8 - 2.0 ng/ml)
(T3 Reverse, LC/MS/NS) 18 ng/dl (range = 8 - 25 ng/dl)
(T Uptake) 1.2 TBI (range = .8 - 1.3 TBI)