T Nation

Starting to Hate the Bench Press

Hi, I’ve been working out for maybe four years on and off. Prior to September I worked out like an idiot and refused to do anything other than arms and pecs. However, in September, I started working out properly focusing on all aspects of lifting and reading this site quite regularly. I am 6’2. My weight has gone up from 185 to 205…still gaining. My Deadlift has gone up from about 245 to 335 and my squat has gone up from roughly 205 to ~305.

However my bench has not budged, even a year ago, it was probably the same 235. I work my chest properly and have made gains in the past but for the past 1.5 years it seems stalled.

As of Jan 5th I have been on WS4SB3 and my DL has gone up 30 lbs. After cycling through floor press for my Max Effort day for 5 weeks I went to check my 1 rep max for bench…still the exact same. The sticking point is right at my chest. I’m starting to speculate that this means my arms are proportionately stronger that my chest. Is this correct??? should I start doing pin-press (pins at exactly chest height) regularly to correct this?

Thanks

Ive been there - 2 years solid. Just broke free of the sticking point this past year.

Take a look at the blast your bench routine by Lee Hayward

www.blastyourbench.com/index.htm

Tried this, and also put myself on HRT - hmmm maybe is was the test cyp shots that really did it - anyway - I broke through and am on my way to 315 1RM - Im close, I am at 275 now, I was at 225 this past summer.

May not be a lot by most standards but for 165lb 45 year old dude its OK.

I also do a lot of back work to help stabilize the shoulder - wide pull ups lots of them - with weight.

One word though - do not bench heavy for more than 4 to 6 months a year - it will eventually tear up your shoulder joints.

you should get a couple buddies and try doing negative sets to shock your cns…