T Nation

Starting Strength & Running for a Newbie?

I'm a 25yr old, 6'2" @240lbs, and I've just started Starting Strength. I work in IT, and my level of strength, fitness and body fat screams "works with computers". To top this off I was a heavy smoker (all but quit now) and consumed a heroic amount of recreational drugs and alcohol during the last 6 years.

After 3 weeks, I have made good progress and the novice program fits nicely with me. The weight lifting part is coming along very smoothly (although I'm only squating 65kg and deadlifting 80kg, which I realize is terrible at best). But I need to add cardio to this as I simply do not have a job or hobbies which are in any way physically demanding. I've started to walk about 2 miles instead of getting a bus home after work, which is good. But I want to get back to running again. I know this will impact my strength gains, its a price I'm whiling to pay atm.

My question is, would running 2000m on a treadmill 3x's a week after my work out be enough? (It takes me around 18mins) Or would I be better off doing it 2x's a week on my rest days? Or would it be better still to do 40-60mins 1 day a week? My preferred cardio is running on treadmills. I've ready a few posts here that suggest this is worthless, but given my physical state would 20mins of running after my weights session not be beneficial, at least initially? I do plan on moving on to kettlebells in 3-4 months but currently they would kill me.

Regards,

David

If I were you I'd do the 2x a week on rest days. My reasoning is so that you are not completely unactive during those days. And as your weightloss stalls add running after your workouts. But remember to have your diet in check as well.

I'd recommend doing a HIIT session immediately after one of your strength sessions once a week. You'll probably see better fat loss gains AND endurance gains with this. At that point, incorporating steady-state cardio is pretty optional.