T Nation

Starting Strength + HIIT for Fat Loss

Hi as i said before I am new to BB(now trained about 3-4 month in a row).Done some training last year to and ofcorse push-ups ect over the years.I was a amateur boxer to for 1-2 years.

It was suggested to me on another topic to start a strength program like Mark Riptoes although my overall main goal is just having a good looking body not high performanc one as athletes do. Anyway gotta give it a try at least 5-6 week even if i doubt it.After reading a good part of his book practical programing for strength ,i decided to start this program.

It looks like this:
Monday
Squat
Bench press/press
chin-ups

Wednesday
Squat
Press/bench press
Deadlift

Friday
Squat
Bench press/press
Pull Ups

Squat ans Bench are dane 3X5 Deadlift 1X5 and Pul Upls 3X(to faliure) (acording to the book in the novice program)

Now i wil use strength actually to lose weight in the begining (not to much anyway) so i think i should iclude some cardio/HIIT on off days .I will try to stay on the ZONE diet to.
I actualy cant sprint for a lot but i will try to increase it to do the HIIT in off days(if cant do HIIT i will continue cardio).

Appart doing the HIIT in off days i was thinking doing some cardio after gym but i fear overtrain (i fear overtrain only by thinking of doing squats 3 day a week but gonna give it a try).
Can HIIT to lead me to overtrain with this program??

Now do u think i should implement Cardio/HIIT on my off days .What about gym days ?
How much should my overall strength train last before going under a mass phase ??

P.S
Wanted to post this threat on Mike Riptoes forum but i am having some problem witg the account confirmation.

I appreciate you learning English, so I'm not going to complain about your writing. On some points, I honestly am not sure what you mean, so if I assume something that isn't true or don't directly address the information you need, ask again.