Starting Strength Flaw: Bench Press

I’ve been doing Starting Strength for the past forever now and I’ve gotten a bit stronger so it’s been good and I like how simple it is, but there’s one lift of mine which hasn’t gone up in AGES! And that’s the Bench, and I think to myself… who the hell puts Squats, Deadlifts AND Benchpress in a single workout?

No wonder I’m unable to increase my bench, I’m physically worn out by the time I get to them. I’m a beginner so I can’t really tolerate that much yet if you know what I mean. I think I’m definitely going to change routine because this is bullshit, any recommendations? Or advice on anything else - am I missing something?

Follow one of the many westside templates out there.

Just keep working at it, my deadlift and squat have gone up 3x as much as my bench in the first month of SS, but you should still be able to see progress. How long are you resting in between sets and how long does it take you to complete a workout?

[quote]Webbykun wrote:
I’ve been doing Starting Strength for the past forever now and I’ve gotten a bit stronger so it’s been good and I like how simple it is, but there’s one lift of mine which hasn’t gone up in AGES! And that’s the Bench, and I think to myself… who the hell puts Squats, Deadlifts AND Benchpress in a single workout?

No wonder I’m unable to increase my bench, I’m physically worn out by the time I get to them. I’m a beginner so I can’t really tolerate that much yet if you know what I mean. I think I’m definitely going to change routine because this is bullshit, any recommendations? Or advice on anything else - am I missing something? [/quote]

I disagree.

I went from benching 3x5x175 to 3x5x255 - for real. Total of about 8 weeks. What did help me was doing squats last because they were so draining.

What also may have helped was doing weighted dips and chins. I also progressed the barbell rows along with my bench.

[quote]elih8er wrote: