Starting Strength Coach's Training Log

Sunday, December 31, 2023
Happy New Year!
Press 215 lbs x 3 x 5
Power Clean & Jerk 225 lbs x 3
Rack Pull 565 lbs x 5

1 Like

I caught a stomach bug from the kids and couldn’t eat or sleep well for several days. I reset my weights by 90% and I am taking the opportunity to make some adjustments. I am going to reduce the amount of volume that I am applying on the lower body lifts, and increase the amount of stress on the upper body lifts by increasing the volume and frequency. I will be lifting at the firehouse because my children have chosen anarchy. The illustrious and infamous Captain Scott Hicks Retired with the bench press lift off.

Sunday, January 7, 2024
Squat 385 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 280 lbs x 5 x 3

1 Like

Wednesday, January 10, 2024
Press 195 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 500 lbs x 5

1 Like

Saturday, January 13, 2024
Squat 450 lbs x 3 x 3
Bench 282.5 lbs x 5 x 3

1 Like

Wednesday, January 17, 2024
Squat 390 lbs x 5 x 3
Press 197.5 lbs x 5 x 3

1 Like

I decided to reset my weights and work my way back up again since I hadn’t been able to train consistently over the last couple of weeks.

Monday, January 22, 2024
Squat 380 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 250 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 450 lbs x 5

Thursday, January 25, 2024
Squat 390 lbs x 5 x 3
Press 175 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 455 lbs x 5

1 Like

Sunday, January 28, 2024
Squat 395 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 260 lbs x 5 x 3
Barbell Row 225 lbs x 8 x 3
Note: I substituted barbell rows for power cleans for a change of pace.

Wednesday, January 31, 2024
Squat 400 lbs x 5 x 3
Strict Press 180 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 460 lbs x 5
Note: I performed strict press because my elbow has been sore and strict press did not irritate it as much.

Saturday, February 3, 2024
Squat 405 lbs x 5 x 3
Close Grip Bench 245 lbs x 5 x 3
Barbell Row 230 lbs x 8 x 3
Note: I performed close grip because it did not irritate my elbow as badly.

Wednesday, February 7, 2024
Pause Squat 325 lbs x 5 x 3
Press 1.5 185 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 465 lbs x 5
Note: Press 1.5 is the hip throw on the first rep, and breathing at the top and essentially treating the press like the bench press for the subsequent reps.

1 Like

Saturday, February 10, 2024
Squat 410 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 250 lbs x 5 x 3
Barbell Row 235 lbs x 8 x 3

1 Like

Tuesday, February 13, 2024
Squat 415 lbs x 5 x 3
Press 187.5 lbs x 5 x 3
Row 240 lbs x 8 x 3

2 Likes

Thursday, February 15, 2024
Pause Squat 330 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 255 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 475 lbs x 5

2 Likes

Sunday, February 18, 2024
Squat 420 lbs x 5 x 3
Press 190 lbs x 5 x 3
Row 245 lbs x 8 x 3

2 Likes

Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Squat 425 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 260 lbs x 5 x 3
Row 250 lbs x 8 x 3

2 Likes

Saturday, February 24, 2024
Squat 340 lbs x 5 x 3
Press 192.5 lbs x 5 x 3
Deadlift 485 lbs x 5

1 Like

Tuesday, February 27, 2024
Squat 430 lbs x 5 x 3
Bench 265 lbs x 5 x 3
Row 255 lbs x 8 x 3

1 Like

Friday, March 1, 2024
Squat 435 lbs x 5, 390 lbs x 5 x 2
Press 195 lbs x 5 x 3
Row 260 lbs x 8 x 3

1 Like