T Nation

Starting Starting Strength

Hey guys,

Little background, main goal is to get stronger period. I've been using WS4SB for 3 months and that's about as long as I've been seriously training.

When I started it was with lots of benching and curls like a lot of us poor lost souls.

Anyway I'm training with the Olympic team in my collage and have been taking to my coach harry and heres the deal,

After much consideration he wants me too switch off ws4sb and use starting strength for at least the next 3 months. He tells me I'm too tight from all the benching and wants me to focus on building myself up in the big exercises as much as possible before I go near accessory work, even the small amount in wa4sb.

He wants me to come off a 4 days upper/lower and use the 3 days full body workout as exactly described by ripptoe, after I get my squat to at least 145KG and my dead to 180KG the I can worry about DB power cleans and skull crushes.

Basically he wants me to move back to the basics and keep it as basic as possible until Im not a weak fuck anymore, also he thinks 3 days would be better as I already train 4 nights a week Olympic style I.e snatches, clean and jerks.

So I just wanted to ask you guys what you think? I mean he's a certified strength coach, a die hard Ian King fan and all about the basics so I'm inclined to trust him.

Anyway let me know.

What are your deadlift and squat numbers now?

My back squat is 100KG in or around and my dead is 120KG, as ya can see I'm quite weak.

I'm confused... are you doing 4 Olympic-style workouts plus 4 WS4SB workouts per week?

If so, how are you managing that much volume? Seems like just one olympic-style workout would have you recovering for a couple days, if your intensity is good.

In any case, the more you are able to train the better. Ideally, you should train as soon as the target muscle group is fully recovered from the last time you worked it out.