Starting Smolov, Eating to Drop Fat?

Hey guys, I’m new to all of this. I’ve decided to start smolov this week mainly because I am insane and I love heavy volume. I’m currently at a 280 1rm and would like to get to 325/335. I don’t really know how to eat for this program. I’d like to lean out more but pack on muscle. I could care less about the weight but more about having low body fat percentage. Any advice would be lovely

I’ve never run full Smolov, but I’ve run Smolov Jnr while losing weight and it was far less productive than it could have been. Yes, I got stronger, yes I got leaner, but it was a far from ideal situation.

If you are looking to lean out more than gain strength, then Smolov is not for you - unless by weight you meant your bodyweight. Even then, I would recommend eating clean and plenty of it. Don’t try to create a caloric deficit, or even Smolov Jr will bury you. If you are already on a solid eating plan, eating to maintain, I would either stay there or bump it up slightly. The extra calories will help with recovery, which is what you want.

[quote]boatguy wrote:
If you are looking to lean out more than gain strength, then Smolov is not for you - unless by weight you meant your bodyweight. Even then, I would recommend eating clean and plenty of it. Don’t try to create a caloric deficit, or even Smolov Jr will bury you. If you are already on a solid eating plan, eating to maintain, I would either stay there or bump it up slightly. The extra calories will help with recovery, which is what you want.[/quote]

This is it. I would almost never recommend smolov to anyone but if you are going to do it be in a calorie surplus or you may crash hard.

[quote]bunnieees94 wrote:
Hey guys, I’m new to all of this [/quote]

Quite possibly one of the best reasons not to do Smolov.

Like others have said, Smolov + caloric deficit = badness.