Starting Over ... Is it Even Possible?

I’m sure many of you may have had this thought at some point in your weight training career;

“If I could just redo my first year of training, I’d…”

Well… is this even possible?!

I’m no expert, but why bother trying to lose all your hard earned muscles.

Could you not just change your focus to fixing any issues you felt had been overlooked?

Well, I’ve read Mike Robertson’s and Eric Cressey’s NNM series and for the most part corrected my posture. However, I’m still not happy with the way in which I put on muscle the first time around.

Also, for whatever reason, I really enjoy ‘starting a project’, which is kinda what I think this may feel like.

No, you can’t “start over”. I am not even sure you understand what you are implying. You can’t “reset” your body like that, Thank God. If it were that simple, anyone in an accident or anyone with an illness that caused major weight loss would be unable to get back to where they were previously without duplicating all of the years it took to get as big as they before the incident. Muscle Memory is a good thing. It is why bodybuilders can get sick, lose 20lbs, yet gain it all back within 2 weeks.

I am also wondering how much muscle you have actually gained if you think you somehow “gained it wrong”. What does this mean? You grew muscles that don’t exist? You grew muscles in strange places that aren’t supposed to have muscle? Ear lobes? Your eyebrows are now humongous? What are you talking about?

[quote]bbh wrote:
(By the way, I’m 210 lbs, 11% bf, and look like a fucking gorrilla because was I completely ignorant of the push/pull postural relationship that existed in my body the first 2 years I trained).[/quote]

So you have freakishly long arms with huge forearms, a massively powerful back, and gigantic jaw muscles attached to a sagital crest that allow you to snap bamboo like twigs? Sounds pretty bad ass to me.