T Nation

Starting Over - Clean Bulk

Hey guys,
I started lifting a couple years ago at 13 or 14. After a year of being around 150lbs, I decided to go on an all out bulk. From sophomore to junior year, I got to 240lbs. Got really strong and put on a lot of muscle, but a lot of fat, too. I was drinking two gallons of whole milk a day and a bunch of other food, too.

I was planning on cutting down to around 190 from there with an estimated LBM of 170.
An unexpected shoulder and back injury had me out for 3 months, and I was cutting meanwhile. I came back at 180 and with lots of muscle and strength lost.

Kept on my cut and was able to make steady strength gains while dropping weight since I’ve come back. But I’m not near the level I was when I had to stop lifting. I’m on day 150 now of a keto died and sufficiently lean. It’s time to start gaining again and this time, the right way.

I’ve been cutting on about 1100 calories a day. It seems like too little, but I feel good and I’m able to make consistent strength gains. Maybe it’s genetics; maybe it’s my age. But I see no reason not to do it this way if I’m able to get good results.

So, there’s the background story…

I’m coming to you guys for help. I have a good amount of lifting experience, and even dieting now, but I honestly don’t know how to properly bulk. I read every stickied diet thread on there that I could.

So, I’m going to do 4 meals a day. And I’m going to have carbs in the morning and pre and post workout. So It’ll be a moderate-carb bulk. Also, on keto, I feel totally fine. Low carb doesn’t phase me. Does this indicate anything about my carb sensitivity?

So, I’m going to do 1.5g protein/lb of body weight a day. Should I start out on 2500 or 3000 calories a day? I’m inclined to say 3000, seeing as I used to eat 6-7k, but I do not want to bulk as messily as I did last time. In fact, I’d prefer not to even have milk this go. I’ve had enough of it for a couple of years. I think I hade myself a lergic.