T Nation

Starting Over - Beginner Log

Been lurking for a bit as I’ve become tired of being the “big guy” for the wrong reasons and wanted to have all my shit together before jumping full steam ahead into something. Quick background, I’m 34, 6’1 286#, and have progressed to the weight I’m at after finishing college.

I was a fat kid, leaned out a bit in HS but still overweight, and then my senior year in HS got tired of it and busted my ass into shape. By the time I started college as a freshman I was at ~ 210 and a 34 waist. Maintained that build all through school by busting ass playing sports and lifting. Bad thing was I ate like shit and drank beer like water - fortunately my workouts kept me in decent shape.

Fast forward to life after college and I put on a ton of weight the first year out. Going from working out to sitting at a desk put 40-50 #'s on that first year alone. From there I’ve slowing gotten to where I’m at today, which is the same breaking point I was at the last time I turned things around. I’ve got a family and need to get healthy and am determined to do so.

I started working out last week, Friday April 18th to be exact. At the same time I’ve cleaned up my diet. Last week I kept my levels at 40% Protein, 30% Carbs, 30% Fat. I ate meat, fruits, and vegetables. Absolutely no cheats.

I joined a nearby gym and I began the WHFS program and have not missed a workout or set in the 8 days on thus far (although had severe DOMS starting day 2 and going through day 5 - worked through them although I could barely move…no pain no gain).