Starting Out

ok im new to working out, last year on january 1st i started a diet and by july 16th i lost 140lbs, i went from 360 to 220. i have been maintaining my weight since then and now i started going to the gym on november 1st this year, i really need to tighten up and i want to build muscle. i was told to take supplements like thermo cuts or ripped fuel to help with my slower metabolism, so went and bought ripped fuel. should i be taking anything else? i dont need to gain weight i just need to convert the little bit of fat i have left. also anything i should be doing specifically while working out? any help would be greatly appreciated.

The best thing you can do is start reading.

There is all kinds of information on here about working out for various kinds of goals, nutritional strategies and supplementation.

Read the beginner threads and then hit the article libraries…

<------ on the left

I don’t think you really need to worry about supplements yet. If you start hitting it hard in the gym, carrying more muscle around will change your metabolism all by itself. Also, eating 6 times or more a day will also speed up your metabolism. I agree with Vroom, just read ALL you can here, (I honestly wouldn’t go anywhere else for information, or supps for that matter).

And oh yeah, you don’t convert fat into muscle!!!

And oh yeah, you don’t convert fat into muscle!!! [/quote]

This is right. Fat is stored energy that you can use to gain muscle, which could eventually replace the fat as lean body mass. The good mass. The mass you want. But there is know why in hell that fat can turn into muscle.

alright, thanks guys for the help thus far…i have been in the gym for 6 weeks and i already notice a difference the only thing is my chest, stomach and quads are the places i need the most work.

i do about 50 crunches a night and ride from 5 to 10 miles on the bike a night, what can i do to flatten out my chest more?