T Nation

Starting Out Weak

Hey there,
Since this year I've started training for football, and love the sport. I've been weighttraining for a while, but only serious for a few months (I've had a lot of injuries/problems preventing me from lifting). Well, I've broken a lot of personal pr's, but I'm still pathetically weak. I can deep squat 300 lbs, clean 250 lbs, but I also weigh about 220. Strength is improving, but it's going slowly. I was wondering if some of the t-men on this site also started out as weaklings?
Basically I'm asking for some motivational stories, about where you started and where you're at now?

you clean 250 but only can squat 300 thats kinda wierd.

not to pick on any one but why do people need motivation to weight lift all of a sudden.

Of course only working out will get me there, but sometimes I just like some motivation to help me out. I know the numbers don't add up, but I'm not lying, my max strength is very weak.

Yup, you're weak.

I KNOW, just know you we're looking for a reply like: wow squating 300 is quite impressive in my book.

But because you're fishing for comments that you're not weak physically, you're still weak.

dude, I just said I was weak, and asked how others started out, that's all. I know 300 lbs back squat is not good for someone who is 220 lbs, I already stated that.