Starting Out Slow

I’m a complete novice to weight training, and my rotator cuffs have some issues.

Wednesday:

After several warm-up sets, these were the work sets:

Squat: 85x3x5
Overhead press: 40x3x5
Deadlift: 115x3x5

I didn’t get injured, so I will be back in a day or two.

Hey nd, I’m a complete novice too (started lifting in Jan 2015). Like your thread title, starting out slow is the way to go when you’re over 35 and you’ve never done this before. I rushed a bit when I started out doing SL5x5 and tweaked my left shoulder which meant I couldn’t do certain lifts for a week or two. Good work so far, keep at it.

Thank you, Norn Iron.

This was Saturday: After several warm-up sets,

Squat 90x3x5
Bench press 65x3x5
Deadlift 125x1x5

Still no injuries, so I guess I will try again in a couple days.

I’ll add this here: Sunday I jogged for 30 minutes, probably a bit over three miles.

Thursday workout:

Back squat 110x3x5
Bench press 90x3x5
Deadlift 160x1x5
Assisted chin-ups 8x3 (with 40 lbs assistance)

Happily no injuries and I felt OK.

This happened on Monday:
Back squat 115x3x5
Overhead press 70x3x5
Deadlift 170x1x5

Keep doing what you’re doing. It seems to be working very well.

Thanks, Carl.
This was today:
Back squat 120x3x5
Bench press 95x3x5
Ring rows, four sets, as many as possible (which was about 16, 12, 8, 6)

My lower back felt strange and sore, and then all the available deadlifting stations were in use. I tried to do some warmup sets with some fixed-weight barbells, but I think I was doing it all wrong, with terrible, possibly dangerous form. I decided not to deadlift today.

How’s your squat form? Could be what’s bothering you back. Fixed weight BBs will have you starting lower than normal in the DL. Do you plan on doing all 3 of the powerlifts the same day in the future? Keep it up. improvement comes quick.