Starting New Businesses?

Hi little buddies,

As many of you know i have moved to a country town. Been here for 6 months now and I have noticed that the town is lacking a few things, and been the keen businessman I have a few ideas. This town needs a mexican restaurant, dry cleaner and maybe a new cafe.

I have no experience in either of these industries.

Question is would it be a good idea and if so how do i go about setting up these businesses up?

tweet

Do you intend to put roots down in this country town? Most businesses require some amount of time to become profitable especially if they require equipment purchases eg: dry cleaners, restaurant.

[quote]Dr. Pangloss wrote:
Do you intend to put roots down in this country town? Most businesses require some amount of time to become profitable especially if they require equipment purchases eg: dry cleaners, restaurant.

[/quote]

This. Be prepared to stick it out 5 years before you start to see a real return IMO. Be prepared to survive the first year essentially in freefall as far as your income is concerned.
Be prepared to work way more hours for less money than you would ever be willing to for someone else (at least in the beginning).

Not saying don’t do it, free enterprise is awesome. I’m just saying do it with a realistic adult timeline in mind. Most of us way overestimate what we can accomplish in a year but underestimate what we can accomplish in five.

Also, restaurants have one of the highest failure rates out there, so unless you are super passionate about this idea specifically, I would suggest a different type of business.

[quote]theBird wrote:

Question is would it be a good idea and if so how do i go about setting up these businesses up?[/quote]

It would be a good idea if you had a partner that had experience in restaurant management or dry cleaning. Also, tons of money helps. Even to open a shit franchise you need to be worth about half a million or so and have close to that in liquid assets.