Starting Bulk

Hey Everybody,

Here is a little background first. Ive been reading on here for about 6 months and havent really posted much. I have been working out off and on for a couple years but I have decided to make a committment to it now. I am pretty much posting to get a little advice and encouragement, plus to remind me of my goals.

I hear a lot of people talk about being a hardgainer, I think I would qualify as one of those. I eat 3000-4000 calories a day and have done so for the last 6 months with minimal weight gains. I have pretty detailed food logs to back this up. Here is a sample:

Yesterday for example. A non-lifting day.

7am - 4 egg omlette with tomato, onion, brocolli. 16oz fruit smoothie with strawberries, mango, banana, apple. 1 pack instant oatmeal, 2 scoops GROW.
1030am - 12" philly cheesesteak with mushrooms, onions, lettuce, tomato, and swiss cheese.
2pm - 10oz chicken and 1 cup brown rice
430pm - 2 scoops grow, 8oz steak, 1/2 plate of pasta
530pm - large plate of lasagna with tossed salad
8pm - big bowl of ice cream
10pm- 2 scoops grow, 10oz chicken breast, 2 chocolate chip cookies.

Like I said before though, my lifting has been too off and on to complain about my lack of muscle gain. I have included a picture to give you an idea of what I’m working with. I am going to use the Westide for Skinny Bastards as a template for my workouts. I also play about 4 hours of basketball a week, 6 hours of surfing, 3 hours of tennis, and ride my bike about 30 miles a week (transportation to school and gym).

I do have a couple of questions though. What, if any, is the downside of me eating sugar to supplement my caloric intake? It doesnt seem to have any effect on me, I eat ice cream, cookies, and smoothies before bed with my protein all the time and have never had any noticeable fat on my body. I would hate to lose these calories by cutting them out.