T Nation

Starting Again

A while ago I was active on this board. I trained for six months and put on 25lbs and got stronger. However, at that six month point I looked in the mirror and wasn't happy with what I saw. After that, my training just started to slip, because I felt like I should have had better results. Eventually I stopped going to the gym and spent all my free time in front of the computer.

Over the Christmas holidays I had vacation time off and I spent most of it sitting at home playing video games and eating crap. After a few days like this I started feeling chest pains just sitting at my computer. I get these pains from time to time when I don't workout.

On top of that, I'm a software developer so I spend tons of time in front of a computer at work too. Long story short, I got fed up and realized I needed to stop doing what I was doing.

A month ago I got a gym membership and started just doing cardio. What I realized after doing high intensity cardio on a consistent basis and eating better is that my anxiety dissipated a lot. I've struggled with anxiety since Junior High School, but I've been feeling really good ever since I do cardio, where I hardly get anxious. It's been fantastic.

The thing is, I realize now that I must do cardio on a regular basis. Moreso to control my mood, because if I don't do it my anxiety will come back. My plan now to get back into the "game" is to do a full body workout three times a week and on my off days I do high intensity cardio.

I'm just wondering if this is too much of a load? I know that cardio and lifting don't necessarily mix, but again, I'm doing the cardio more to controly my mood. Thoughts??

That avatar is friggin hilarious.