Starting Again After a Long Pause. Any Advice Appreciated

Hi everyone! This is my first post here, so be patient :slight_smile:
I started lifting 10 years ago and loved it, did a couple of bulk/cut cycles and was very fit (visible muscles on back and shoulders, some abs definition).
I then had 2 babies within 3 years and after the second pregnancy stopped training all together, needless to say that I have some weight to lose at this point and since 4 weeks I am back in the gym.
I am 40 years old, weight 173lb and my goal is to lose 40lb, I am 5’6’'.
On the nutrition front I am carb cycling (worked fine a few years ago when cutting) and eat 1300kcal on rest days and 1600kcal on lifting Days (120g protein, 50-60g fat and the rest is carbs).
I go to the gym every second day and do 45min of lifting followed by 20min of HIIT, for the lifting I do a full body routine including sqauts or lunges, deadlifts, bench press, overhead press, one vertical and one orizontal pull.
I take measurements and have been losing 1inch per week on all upper body measurements, a bit less on the lower body (that’s where i store most of my fat), the scale only showed a 3lb loss up to now, not really pleased there :frowning:
Do you think I should do something different? Is my nutrition plan way off?
Should I add more cardio? I am not a cardio lover and I actually like HIIT much better but I will do it if you think it is needed.

Hey there! I am certainly no expert, but I would say that if you’re consistently losing 1" on your measurements per week, that’s excellent. Scale weight doesn’t matter so much, and measurements are a better judge of body recomposition.

If anything, I might add a bit more calories from protein on your training days. Also, if you reach a plateau, I would break up your training days and do more specific body parts or upper/lower splits. Maybe not do HIIT every day you work out.