T Nation

Starting a Strict Transformation

Hi everyone. I’ve weight lifted and been active before but I always stop because of nagging injuries or lack of motivation. This time I’ve been at it with great results for about three months but I know I can do better, so I want to start a hardcore diet/lifting program. If you can take a look at what I’m considering and offer some suggestions that would be awesome.

Stats: 21 yrs old, 5’11", ~188 lbs, i estimate around 20-25 % BF but I don’t know for sure. My goal in the short term is to lose the fat down to at most 14% while maintaining as much muscle as possible. also, as a beginner I understand that I’ll be able to build strength due to beginner gains, but you can school me on that. If a slower, steadier cut can help me lose fat while maintaining as much muscle and strength as possible, I’d rather do that. Here is my workout plan I’m thinking of, but I have some questions…
Monday: Legs
Leg Press ( I have trouble with squats due to some injuries)
Leg curls
Lunges
calf Raises

Tuesday: chest and triceps
bench press
incline dumbbell press
tricep pull down
skull crushers

Wednesday: Back and Biceps
Lat Pull Down (again, left elbow problem prevents me from doing pull ups)
Vbar cable row
Up Right Row
Bent Over Dumbbell Row
Barbell curl
Forearm curl

Thursday: Shoulders
Military Press
Lateral Dumbbell Raises
Front Raises
Rear Delt Fly

Now, heres the issue I have with cardio: I’ve heard that doing steady state cardio is best for losing fat while keeping muscle, but a lot of people also say that HIIT should be done all the time and doesn’t hurt muscle/strength maintenance or gains.