T Nation

Starting 531 while in the Police Academy

Dear Jim,
I’ve been solely using the daily body weight workout to train for the police academy, which I start in three months. Academy PT consists of distance running and calisthenics, usually performed on a daily basis. Since reading your article, I have caught the 531 bug. What would be the proper progression for me to start 531 with my current situation?

Some background:
*I have little lifting experience, and I am focusing on the body weight basics and running at present.
*The academy is 5 days a week/8 hours a day/ 5 months long.
*I plan to use the body weight program up until the start of the academy to build up my base/get my ass in shape.
*I want to use the proper progression to set myself up for success
*I have a physical job which I work 5 days a week

Given these factors, what would be the most logical way to go about starting your program?

Thanks, Adrian

In general, I would recommend the Prep program and then using the 5/3; what you do is 100% dependent on what your goals are. That is why I try to teach principles and ideas and give examples. Then you take the personal responsibility of what to do.

Unless I personally train you in my weight room, all I can do is teach. So Prep program and then you choose the training based on your goals and current levels.

Great, thanks Jim. Before venturing out on my own I just want to confirm two things,

1. Is the prep program run for six weeks only?
  2. I am assuming the 5/3 is 531 without the third week? Would that make it a three week program only?

https://forums.t-nation.com/t/5-up-back-3?source_topic_id=213601

Have a read of that.

Thanks, will start training to win.