T Nation

Started Training Again for Size

Hi I have recently started training again and wanting to put on some muscle size. I am 25, 5’10, 170lbs and average build but small frame (about 5 1/2" wrist), and having a hard time gaining weight.

I am a beginner to this and I have been training 10 weeks so far and all my weights are very gradully increasing by week. The problem I am having is that although I am very slightly stronger each time I train I appear to be actually loosing muscle size! I have also gained very minimal weight (1.8lbs).

After reading around i decided it may be that i was not eating enough, so i have upped my cals by 500 to 2200 (about week 4). This still didnt work after 2 weeks so put it up another 500 I thought to be safe. Currently I am on around 3200-3500 a day with 250-300g protien spread around 6 meals/shakes.

Although It hasnt appeared to show much difference in weight gain at all I wouldnt be too bothered if it was just slow - but progress, but after noticing some changes for the worse i checked my measurements and my chest size has gone down from 42" to 40.5" and my others are exactly the same.

My current workout is:

Mon & Fri
Bench Press 3 x 10 (70kg)
Incline Bench Press 3 x 10 (42kg)
Dip Machine 3 x 10 (70kg)
Bicep Curl Bar 3 x 8 (30kg)

Wednesday
Machine Side Shoulder Raise 3 x 10 (42kg)
Machine Shoulder Raise 3 x 10 (30kg)
Machine Backwards Shoulder Raise? 3 x 10 (40kg)

Machine Seated Row 3 x 10 (42kg)
Machine Rear Delt Row 3 x 10 (35kg)
Wide Grip Assisted Pullups 3 x 8 (BW - 35kg)

Thats about it… not probably the most complete but surely doing this consistently should lead to some gains in size or weight? Also why would my strength increase and size decrease, and in the workout im doing twice a week? Am I overtraining, undertraining? Any help will be greatly apperciated, cheers!

Any reason you don’t train your legs?