T Nation

Started Lifting and Dieting. Advice?

I recently started lifting 2 months ago and about a month ago started dieting. I have lost 10lbs in the past month but my main concern is if I'm doing it right? My goal is to get ripped and gain muscle but from hours of research it seems doing both at the same time is very hard. I am 6'3" and 190lbs. I would consider myself an endomorph. Currently I am restricting myself to 2100 calories and hit the gym 4 times a week. I also play basketball a minimum of 3 times a week for about an hour. With this plan will I be able to retain my current muscle mass and get lean? I only supplement with ON whey protein. And my macros are set at 40% carb, 25% fat and 35% protein.

Any help / suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Where Do I Start? (With Pics)

You are not a endomorph structurally looking at your picture,

Well, you're half right and half wrong. You're not particularly fat, so you'd probably do better working on gaining muscle - just make sure you're eating lots of good food (ie no processed crap). You'll need to up your calories too. Generally, I understand that your maintenance window is bodyweight in lbs x 14 to bodyweight in lbs x 17.

So, for you that would be 190x14 to 190x17, or 2660-3230. That's just maintenance. I think, based on what I've done for myself, you'd do fine setting your calories at 3300 and training as you have been. That should keep your growth going, but minimise fat gain (there will be a little, but that's not a problem).

Make sure you're training smart and consistently and you'll be fine (four days a week with your basketball sounds good). You don't have to squat, bench and deadlift but you'll probably benefit from doing a fair bit of variations of those lifts and supplementing them with more isolation kind of work if you want. Do plenty of row variations too.

I just thought since I was skinny?... idk I am new too all this. Any suggestions on my current plan?