Standing Calf Raise - WTF?

I am relatively new to lifting, only about 3 months in. Over the past 3 weeks, I have been able to increase the weight on standing calf raises by 50lbs each week/workout. This is friggin insane. I was at 150lbs (smith machine) in late January, now I am at 250lbs for 4x6reps.

damn I wish my other lifts increased this much!

Maybe it has something to do with the muscle type in the calves?

I have a backround in intense cycling, so I wasn’t a slob before lifting.

Calf Raises aren’t really a hard exercise when compared to other ones. Consider the fact that maybe you were able to do the same weight you’re currently doing 3 weeks ago, but you just didn’t try to… I doubt what you were doing 3 weeks ago was as hard as what you’re doing now.

Also, I find that with calf exercises, it is easy to change form to adapt to the weight you’re lifing. Try it with light weight… you’ll perform full range of motion as slowly as you want to. Add a lot more weight and it becomes a more sporadic exercise that involves quick but powerful motions. Form changes way more than, say, a bench press with light or heavy weight. You can’t fully bench something over your 1 RM, but you can calf raise something over your 1 RM since you might very well use a quicker motion and involve other muscles as well (back and legs, for example).

Just my 2 cents…

I can do a set of 400+ lbs easy on the calf raise, and I have fairly slim calves.

I think a couple things are happening here. First, it’s not a very large motion. Second, it’s a levering motion. And third, you’re not actually lifting that much; that’s simply what the weight stack says. But, you’re levering that, so you get a mechanical advantage.

Here is something to challenge your calves more: after every concentric “lift”, bounce at the top a few times before going back down.