T Nation

SS Sans Squats

I’ve been doing starting strength again for a few months now, but hurt my knee doing front squats ( http://tnation.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/sports_body_training_performance_bodybuilding_beginner/getting_front_squats_out_of_the_hole ).

It was getting better, but I pushed it too hard and ended up hurting it again, so I think it will be a while. I’m hoping I can start bodyweight squats in a couple days. It’s too bad too, because I was halfway through my third deload on back squats.

In any event, I can’t squat. I figure I’ll ride out SS for my OHP and Bench, since I’m on my last deload anyway (keep getting stuck at 160 OHP and 195 bench).

What sort of alterations should I make as a result? I’m finding that I’m not nearly as hungry, so I have cut back slightly on the eating, but I don’t really know what else I can do. Once I start BW squats, I figured I would start RDLs or good mornings, but I don’t want to make the same mistake and hurt my knee again. What else can I do?

I am confused… Are you doing the squats out of the bottom? HOW did you hurt your knee? WHY does your knee hurt? Body weight squats will absolutely not be the same thing as doing the loaded squats in this program.

Why are you not back squatting? Is it only front squatting that hurts your knee?

If this is the program you want to be on you simply must find a suitable replacement. The leg press, hack squat machine, Trap bar dead lift… Something that you can use Linear Progression on.

On top of this you are eating less? This sounds like a bad plan as well. Provided you are not getting fat, you should not be eating only when you are hungry. YOU DO NOT EAT WHEN YOU ARE HUNGRY, YOU EAT TO FUEL YOUR BODY NO MATTER WHAT IT TAKES.

Sorry if I wasn’t clear above.

The BW squats aren’t to replace heavy squats. They’re just to rehab my knee and get used to moving it w/ out pain more than anything.