T Nation

Squatting

I am doing the 5x5 workout to gain strength and mass but mostly for strength. When I do squats, I like to do them “naked” -no belt, no knee wraps but my lower back is very sore the next 3-5 days and that weakens my dead lifts as well. I was a competitive powerlifter about 15 years ago but have forgotten most of what I had learned back then. I was totaling 1400 at 165 lbs. Should I be using a belt or just strengthen my spinal erector muscles

maybe ease off the weight till your back/abs catch up? I’m a noob to squats, and I knew it so I started with low weight and didn’t experience the problem you are describing. Perhaps your pride on your former achievements is clouding your judgement?

I noticed that when I placed the bar too low on my shoulders, I would definitely feel a “pain” in my lower back - like the bar was compressing my spine. So I have to really keep in mind that bar placement. Maybe you should, too. Also read any of the articles about the squat by either Dave Tate or Ian King (the “Limping” series), they’ll give you a really good idea as to the form.

BTW: we don't and haven't used a belt for years. I wouldn't recommend it, but to yes, definitely work on strengthening your lower back (and abs) - but really look at your squat form, too.

I think this is fairly common for strong guys…especially if you’re over the age of around 30. There’s probably not a whole lot you can do besides maybe changing your squatting style and adding restorative techniques such as contrast baths, massage etc. If you do a powerlifting type squat your lower back is going to get hit pretty hard. I guess the easiest thing to just make sure you allow 5 days rest before trying to deadlift.