Squatting technique

Question for you all.

I am fairly new to bodybuilding within the last year and I am trying to master the squat. I started out using a smith machine as I heard this was a goo starting point for learning the technique.

However, I have been informed and have realised that my form is slightly wrong. Before I suffer an injury I am looking for ways to start squatting using a a free weight barbell. The drawback to this is that I can’t seem to squat down to parallel without my hips going out behind me and it ends up being more of a good morning when I stand back up. This is due to my ankles not being able to flex enough. I have not problems with a deadlift though. I do however have long legs which makes it a son of a bitch to get down properly as my hips and knees need to travel quite far out to get down.

I have read that raising your heels may be a starting point in order to get used to the exercise but I have my doubts as to whether this is a good idea or not for my knees. (obviously I am going to take it easy and use light weights to avoid injury)

Has anyone had a similar experience as I would like to know what approach they took. I am concerned that I may be biomechanically unsuited to squatting. I hope this is not the case.

Thanks for your time

If you’re just trying to learn technique right now, get out of the machine and work in the power rack with just the bar. There’s no point in getting used to a machine squat if you plan on eventually using the rack. The problem you mentioned may not be due to a lack of flexibility. If your trunk flexes too far forward, you could just be using too much weight.