Squatting Every Day But Missing Once a Week?

I have come to two major realizations at this point in my life:
First, my squat sucks. Second, I’ll never be able to string more than 5-6 days in a row of squatting.

This leads me to my question: If I want to do a program that focuses on squatting every day (not Smolov… not quite yet), will I miss out on any gains if I miss one day a week? I’d love to bring my squat up within the next year or so. My squat is not proportional to my deadlift or bench and it’s infuriating, since squat seems to be the only lift anyone takes seriously (I know it isn’t, but that’s just how it seems to ME, because my squat is trash).

My job requires me to work 8-12 hour shifts where I’m on my feet the entire time; the few times that I have squatted the morning before a 10 hour shift have left me feeling broken, and very, very sorry the next day, so I’m not going to do that anymore. Thankfully, since I am a full-time student still living at home, I only work once per week, and that day is never a training day for me.

Keep in mind that, for the moment, this is purely hypothetical. I’m on 5/3/1 and love it, but this is something I’ve been very curious about for a while now. I’ve also heard that squatting every day is a good way to get down a couple bf% points and strengthen your core… so I might utilize this from February-May to simultaneously earn a manly squat and get ready for the beach. Who knows. Thanks guys!

Not sure how relevant this will be for you, but I ran CT’s Bulgarian program on here for a while. That has you squatting 5 days/week at different intensity levels. I liked it and recovery was never an issue (pretty low volume). Sometimes I missed the 5th day, didn’t really feel like I missed out on gainz. YMMV, good luck!

1 Like