Squats without insane aches after?

I am relatively new to lifting. I am more of a cardio person, but now my aim is to gain muscle mass.

Anyways, whenever I do squats (i’v only been doing it with light weights since im new to this) the day after my legs and glutes are insanely sore. So sore that moving is really hard. The day after that is just as bad. Day 3, its toleratable, day 4 it is gone.

Now, I really want to do squats, but the aches after is quite disruptive to me.

I’ve even tried doing body weights squats with more reps, but it’s the same story the day after.

How do I tackle this issue?

That’s called DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness).

You’ll get sore for a couple of weeks, after which it should start to go away as your body adapts to the load. Keep pushing through it. Also, some light recovery lifting will help getting rid of it faster.

You might try more sets of less reps as well.

[quote]Digital Being wrote:
I am relatively new to lifting. I am more of a cardio person, but now my aim is to gain muscle mass.

Anyways, whenever I do squats (i’v only been doing it with light weights since im new to this) the day after my legs and glutes are insanely sore. So sore that moving is really hard. The day after that is just as bad. Day 3, its toleratable, day 4 it is gone.

Now, I really want to do squats, but the aches after is quite disruptive to me.

I’ve even tried doing body weights squats with more reps, but it’s the same story the day after.

How do I tackle this issue?

[/quote]
Do some bodyweight squats the next day. Just to get blood moving through the muscle.

Aside from that, there is this technique called “Man the Fuck Up”.

:stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

[quote]talldude wrote:
That’s called DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness).

You’ll get sore for a couple of weeks, after which it should start to go away as your body adapts to the load[/quote]