Squats Without Catch Bars

My gym doesn’t have catch bars for the power rack. Assuming catch bars are coming eventually, what’d you do in the meantime to improve your squat in the meantime?

I’m pretty new to squats, and was totally set for doing squats, but I’m scared to get anywhere near failure without a safety net. My squat gains have been very slow. I still push hard on deadlifts, leg press, leg extensions and leg curls, in that order, and have been getting quick gains.

Just start off light and work your way up. You’ll get a feel for what your working sets need to be. You don’t have to train to failure. And if worst comes to worst, you can always dump the bar. Your gym won’t be too happy…but f**k 'em! Tell them that’s what happens when you don’t have safety pins.

Is there anything I should be trying to do when I dump the bar? Release and push my back back/upright to get the bar away from my body, or move forward asap? Seems like a stupid question, but I’d feel a hell of a lot dumber for getting hurt when I could just ask.

[quote]leaftye wrote:
Is there anything I should be trying to do when I dump the bar? Release and push my back back/upright to get the bar away from my body, or move forward asap? Seems like a stupid question, but I’d feel a hell of a lot dumber for getting hurt when I could just ask.[/quote]

make sure no one is behind you, so lift in front of a mirror.

Try OL squats (front squats), jefferson squats, hack squats, duck deadlift, one leg squat with dumbbel, etc, without a power rack is better no work to failure, is not needed and even counterproductive.

[quote]Murasame wrote:
Try OL squats (front squats), jefferson squats, hack squats, duck deadlift, one leg squat with dumbbel, etc, without a power rack is better no work to failure, is not needed and even counterproductive. [/quote]

Front Squats put alot of pressure on your lower back if done wrong.

Just saying.

But I’m sure the other guy knew that.

[quote]leaftye wrote: