Squats with Herniated Disk

I was in a car accident a few months ago. The broken bones have healed but the disk between my lowest vertebrae and tailbone is bulging out. I tried SSB squatting with only about 70 lbs and had pretty severe pain for several days. My chiropractor suggested I permanently stop lifting and limit physical activity to things like swimming, walking, and suggested a cross-country skiing machine for “exercise”. Can anyone suggest a form of lifting, rehab, or quite frankly anything so I can eventually get back to squats and deadlifts? Thanks

In my case I just trained everything else I could until my back stopped hurting, then would attempt to train squats/deadlifts as painlessly as possible. Sometimes I would overdo and have to back off, but it got incrementally better and I would progress the weights as it did so.

Just keep moving.

3 Likes

Disclaimer, this isn’t medical advice, I’m not a doctor, and I don’t know anything specific about your back issues.

If you stop loading your back altogether, you will make the supporting musculature weaker. I’m not saying you need to squat heavy, but I’d work to find some way to load and strengthen without pain. glute bridges, pull throughs, belt squats, reverse hyper. I’d find something that makes it at least not hurt, and start with very light pump stuff. Then, if you want to, build up. I personally would also work on core and stability as much as possible. If you have something wrong with the bone structure, I’d personally want all the muscles that stabilize it as strong as possible.

A herniation (depending on severity) isn’t necessarily all that bad. Most serious lifters have some, including a-symptomatic ones. Don’t think it’s the end of the world.

4 Likes