Squats and deads....

Ok, this may have been addressed before, but from my experience squats and deads are not all that important. I see guys making amazing progress, i.e. putting on 2 inches on their arms (14->16) in about a year and a half and having decent thighs and hams without squatting or doing deads. In fact they do legs once every 7-10 days.I have been squatting for 2 years and doing deads for one and have not made the same gains as those guys. I mean, I thought that squats and deads would help pack on more muscle overall but this is not happening. I am putting on the same amount of muscle, if not less! And no, my diet is not crap, and my form is fine…

You are doing something wrong, what I do not know. Your diet may not be crap, but it may not be up to snuff either. Prove it by posting it.

Comparing the gains of some one else to yours is virtually irrelevant, since you don’t share the same genetics. Also, you may be eating clean, but are you eating enough?

maybe you’ve been squatting the wrong way.

How often are you training legs and how long are the workouts? You could be training them too often or doing too many sets per workout.

If these guys are your identical twins then you may have a point but that would just mean you’re doing something wrong. : ) Honestly, they may have better genetics, diet, and may be getting the proper rest. When it comes to bodybuilding you really have to know your own body and it’s a learning process over time. Personally, I can look at a squat rack and my legs get bigger but leg presses aren’t all that effective.

As you can see from the posting there are a number of people here willing to help you. Squats and deadlifts are a must for functional strength. Post your “sats”. (age, weight, % body fat, Your diet (calories, protein (grams), Fat(%), and Carbs (grams) and your workout then we have something to go on.