T Nation

Squat to Over 600 by the End of Next Year?

Hi, my name is Ricky Cranford, I go to Coronado High School in Colorado Springs. At school I have the school squat record with 464 lbs. before that, the record had been 439 for almost four years. My goal for the end of my senior year is to be able to squat 600 lbs. When I leave that school, I don't want anyone to even come close to taking my record. Im fairly new to powerlifting so Im not too sure what im doing or how to train. Is it possible to for me to take my squat record and push it to 600 by next year? I only use a belt and I do not use a singlet or wraps if that helps at all. And by the way, I do go down all of the way past parallel.

a video would be nice to aid in assessing form, a routine, diet, height, weight, stance ect. its possible to reach this gal depending how much time you have, but give the folks you're asking advice from something to work with.

I think I can get a video next week when I get home

Ricky you didn't mention what you can squat NOW I assume it's not better than 464 or you'd be the record holder. Even if you could squat 700# right now. What I'd do is break the record by a little bit, keep training. Then break it again and again until you top out. You'll be the guy who broke the record 5 times vs the guy who diod it once. capish?

That's what i'd do anyway.

Actually, that's what I've been doing. Half way through the first semester the record was 439 and I broke it with 445. Then before Christmas I broke it with 455. During my last testing session after spring break I broke it again with 464. I just want to start training for 600 over this summer.