T Nation

Squat Question

Hi.

I’ve been squatting for a few months and something weird happens.

First, I want to let you know that I’m not doing half reps, I’m going all the way down, the butt just over the floor.

But when I’m standing up, as the weigh gets heavy, I slow down at some point.

Right at the beginning, it’s going well, but when my knees get at parallel or close to it, I start slowing down and almost stalling, and when that point is passed, I can finish the rep easily.

It’s strange, it’s like that I lose strength in the middle of the rep, stall, then go back up.

I know that the leg is made of many different muscle. Maybe the one needed to just get over parallel is weaker than the others, wich make it harder for me to stand up at this point.

I don’t know, is this normal? Is it a form issue?

Thanks.

PS: Sorry for my english, I may make some mistakes.

There was a thread about this a few weeks ago. Just keep squatting, its normal.

Ok, thanks.

Edit: while you’re at it, could you post that thread? I’d like to take a look.

Very normal.

Here ya go:

(I obviousley didnt kno the answer until this this thread)

One more thing.

If it is normal, is it something that will stop in the future, is it a beginner thing?

I believe it has to do with the way your limbs are built and leverage. All i know is that it has to do with 90 degree angles between bones.

[quote]Annihilator wrote:
One more thing.

If it is normal, is it something that will stop in the future, is it a beginner thing?[/quote]

Not really. What you’re experiencing is a “sticking point”. It is the point at which you are the weakest, and most likely to fail a lift. Sticking points can change with your training experience, strength levels, and most often as you concentrate on certain muscle groups. In other words, as you concentrate on strengthening the weakest muscle group in your lift, your sticking point will move.