Squat Help Please!!

Hi,

Not that new to training, but I’m new to squats.

When I do other exercises,bicep curls for example, I go to failure and it’s because the bicep is full of Lactic acid or too punished to lift ( with good form) another rep. However, when I do squats, on my last rep, my quads aren’t dead but my whole system is stressed - and that’s the reason I go to failure. Not because of muscle failure, per se - well certainly not leg muscles. I just feel f%%ked.

Is this a case of

1. Welcome to the world of squatting
  2. I’m doing something wrong
  3. I’m not fit enough to do squats - and you have to be very fir to feel the squats oin the legs - so that the reason for failure is leg muscle fatigue?

Mostly, I would think a combination of the first two.

As for the third, that depends on whether you are using proper form or not. Have somebody watch you squat. If you are keeping your back straight, going low enough and using a good weight, you will feel it in your legs.

Of course, you will also feel it in your back and stomach since you will be bracing your body to maintain the proper position. That can take its toll on you just as much as the weight you are pushing.

Squats are a full body exercise, which is why you feel your whole system being stressed. That is also why it’s difficult (and not smart) to go to complete failure while squatting. Going to true failure on squat, or loading up more than you can handle is a good way to get hurt.

Squating is also highly mental. Take the weight you think you can only do 10 times, do it 20. Dan John mentioned this not to long ago in an article. Unless you are doing a true max, you can very often do “one more” if you take a few deep breaths and concentrate. I tried this a couple months ago (with only 225) and by the time I hit 20 I felt just like I used to in college after running the 400. But now I know I can do it, and one of these days will do it again with more weight.