Squat Grip with the Yoke

My training partner for Strong Man (I’m a newb, he’s a vet) just recently suggested gripping the yoke just like you would with a regular barbell squat, with your hand close to your shoulders (not a PL squat).

I personally found that it feels better on my back when I walk with it, however locking it out in the first place is a pain in the ass. Since I don’t have enough experience yet with this sport, I was just curious whether some of you guys have experimented with this as well and what your results were. Thanks in advance.

I’ve only done one contest, but when I trained with the Yoke, it always felt better with my hands on the uprights of the Yoke (similar to using a Giant Cambered Squat Bar). You could take a normal squat grip, but I would be worried that if the uprights of the yoke happen to swing a bit, they could throw you off balance.

Just my $0.02

[quote]Dre the Hatchet wrote:
My training partner for Strong Man (I’m a newb, he’s a vet) just recently suggested gripping the yoke just like you would with a regular barbell squat, with your hand close to your shoulders (not a PL squat).

I personally found that it feels better on my back when I walk with it, however locking it out in the first place is a pain in the ass. Since I don’t have enough experience yet with this sport, I was just curious whether some of you guys have experimented with this as well and what your results were. Thanks in advance.
[/quote]

I do yoke with my hands on the crossbar as you describe, although I’d estimate more people have their hands ont eh uprights. Not sure what you mean tho comparing a “regular barbell squat” with a pl squat. my hand placement is the same whetehr im goign to parallel or full depth