T Nation

Squat Getting Worse, Help

Hi!
I’m Anna, 17yrs old, 5ft, 90lbs. I started lifting 3 yrs ago and now have a best squat of 185lbs, deadlift of 260lbs and bench of 125lbs.

Recently, I’ve been having a lot of trouble with my squat. I ran Candito’s 6-week strength twice. The first time, I increased my squat max from 175-185, but the second time, I actually failed 175! My bench and deadlift both increased both times. Now, I’m running a GZCL program to switch things up, but my squat is still weak ( 155x5 felt like a grinder even though I did 155x8 three months ago). My legs don’t feel too challenged, but I get a weird lightheaded feeling when squatting that makes me dump the bar. What’s wrong?

Ps. I did not change sleep, stress or nutrition, but did loose around 3lbs over spring break

Please Help!!!

Could be due to weight loss, 3lbs is a lot when you weigh 90. I weigh 240, if I lost 8lbs in a week I’m sure my lifts would be down.

Did you lift over spring break? Sometimes a week away will make you initially weaker bc of the time not practicing the movement. Keep at it and it will come back.

I don’t think it’s related to the weight loss otherwise her bench wouldn’t have increased. last summer I lost 20 pounds and didn’t lost strength, actually gained a bit in lower body.

Maybe your form is not perfect. When I did my first strength program my DL and squats increased by 50kg in like 4 months. But I was using to much back and hips, too wide a stance in the squat (my strongest points)

I think a vid should help

Unless her form suddenly got worse then it wouldn’t explain the situation here either. There isn’t enough information here to conclude much, all we know is that her squat is still not doing well and she lost a few lbs.