Squat Form Check - Knees Way Too Far?

Hi,

Absolute beginner know. Are my knees here way too far or is this still acceptable? I am 6’3". Any other issues (I see knees moving, heels lifting up , bar not necessarily over middle of the foot, bad grip with awkward wrist position, not sure about back position).

I added some pictures as well:

Start here:

Then, once you’re sure you’ve got that down, try here:

Nothing wrong with knees, your stance looks pretty good for a beginner. Work on your arms though, keep them under the bar for more upper back tightness. No need to be flaring them so far behind you.

It seems to me you are trying to do a high bar squat with the bar in the low bar position. Your knee is sticking out so far because you are all legs and your stance is not wide enough. Watch what your knees are doing when you fatigue, they collapse in a bit.

Also, minor thing but your feet are not out at the same angle, your right foot is especially weird, this makes the OCD in me twitch.

I think Ben Bruno said that your knees travelling over your toes is not the big issue (when you have long thighs it may be inevitable) but going up on your toes is - which is what you’re doing. for a low bar squat, you’re waaay too much forward. I agree with tsantos on this. My advice would be to use a box (or a few stacked plates) to sit on so you really learn to move back and reach sufficient depth at the same time. Honestly, I think box squats would be great for you at this point.

Widen your stance just a bit, lower bar down on your back a bout a inch or so, break at the hips, push knees out, screw the floor problem solved , problem staying solved.