Squat Form Advice

I am new to power lifting but not to lifting weights. Been in the gym for years but never with a real sense of purpose. Decided that I would start the long journey and just wanted any solid advice on my form. I am using 220 lbs in the video and my max is around 265 lbs. Squat form critique - YouTube

Is it just me or is there no vid added to your post?

Maybe now?

This might turn into a “how do I post my video thread?”

Its a private video, you need to go to Youtube and open the video while signed in to Youtube. Select the ‘edit’ option and then find the drop down for whether the video is private or public and select ‘public’. Then save the changes.

I believe its right now, I appreciate the help.

Yep, all good.

It doesn’t look too bad. I especially like how you set up, very deliberate. You do look a tad loose though - you’ll probably find if you take big air at the top and squeeze down on it throughout the movement you’ll be able to move a fair bit more weight. To do this you need to breathe with your diaphragm. A belt is also a good idea.

Also, to keep tighter try slowing your descent. For me the best way to think about it was to pull myself back and down into the hole rather than dropping into it. Also, another useful cue is to spread the floor and push your knees out - the pressure should be not just on your heels but the whole outside of your feet. IMO this is relevant to wide OR narrow squatters, but if you squat wide you absolutely must do it.

You might also want to go a tiny bit deeper just to be safe - or if you’re competing in the IPF, a ton deeper.

I have been trying to work on intra-abdominal bracing recently . I feel like I can get a good breath in my belly if i’m standing without weight but when the bars on my back I struggle with it. Would a belt help me learn how to brace better? Seems to be a stigma over belts and using them too soon or too often. I would almost feel silly strapping on a belt for a squat under 300 lbs.