T Nation

Squat Depth and Knee Problems?

so I was squating at the gym the other day, going just below parallel, a distance I thought appropriate to stimulate muscle and develop strength when a older woman approached me and asked if I was a physical trainer or have studied anything of the sort. I told her I've just read an awful lot and consider myself well versed in the excersize. She proceded to tell me she has a phD in excersize physiology and she has heard of many people tearing up the cartilidge in their knees from going too low.

I've seen two other people squat at my gym, one a friend who has also heard of knee problems and goes to just above parallel and the other some random dude who has a 2" ROM other wise the rack gets used as a curl machine as mentioned in another tread on here

As a result of her conversation I've started squating to just above parallel. I'm not a powerlifter however I would like to compete at some point or another.....

would you guys call me lame for not going below parallel? should I go lower in hopes of powerlifting in the future?
anyone else afraid of knee problems

I think most of the knee problems people have from squatting comes from the knees going way forward over their toes and/or their knees coming in. You can certainly go below parallel and not hurt your knees. Just focus on A) sitting back not down and B) pushing your knees out through the entire lift.

Yes you should and done properly your knees should get stronger. If you want to PL For darn sure you need to hit at least parallel

Ill add do some prehab things if your look at writings by Eric Cressey and Mike Robertson on knees

do you have knee problems? If no, then go as LOW as you can go.

Its been shown that ATG is safer then parallel, but parallel is safer then a 1/4 squat.

try not to let your toes go over your knees, IF your wearing flat soled shoes.

ATG your glutes stop the motion, parallel ur knees stop it.