Squat Critique

This is my first time recording my squat. I need to stop lifting in front of a mirror. I’ll start looking away starting next cycle. My lower back was still sore from high rep sumo squats last week. I’m doing high reps because I’m transitioning from conventional deads and have been working on form. Let me know how I can improve!

It looks like at the bottom you dip your but in too much, at least too much for a low bar squat. Try to keep your butt pulled back, and then pushing forward with the hips while driving up. It looks like you release tension off your hamstrings at the bottom. I would suggest working on hamstring flexibility, but otherwise looks great. Is 4 reps considered high reps?

Also, why do you lockout so hard, that just looks like you are gonna snap some shit up. You gotta be careful handlin that weight

Thanks for the reply JC. I’ve always dipped my butt down to try and break parallel. What do you mean by keeping my butt pulled back? Maybe I should start doing box squats again because that helped me with technique in the past but I haven’t done them in a long time.

I’ll use them for assistance work next cycle instead of doing normal squats after the main squat workout. (I’ve been doing 4x10 after my main squat work.) I think you’re right about releasing tension in my hams because sometimes I feel like my hams aren’t fully engaged and I feel much more soreness in my quads than hams. In regards to hamstring flexibility, I thought that I’m pretty flexible. Are you saying I should do hamstring stretches before lifting?