Squat and Deadlift Form Check

Greetings powerlifters.

I would greatly appreciate any and all feedback on my squat and DL form. I am not a competitive powerlifter, so my emphasis is on performing the movements correctly and safely while still moving as much iron as I can.

In anticipation of any belt-related comments, I am starting the shopping process now (thanks StrengthDawg for your perspective on that). I’m very curious to see what I can get out of a belt on max effort sets, but for now you have my beltless sets for review.

Thanks for taking the time to watch me lift and offer your feedback.

First up is a deadlift single for 515.

Next is side view of 385x5.

And finally we have rear view of 405x3. Again, I really appreciate the feedback from more experienced lifters.

Your Deadlift looks fairly well however I am no expert on it by any means. How ever it does appear that your Glutes and Hams are weak compared and it is causing that awkward transition you have to make at the top right before lockout.

As for your Squat

1. Look up a bit. Not at the roof but some where directly in front of you and focus on that point through the entire range of motion. Looking down is one of the reasons your hips are shooting up before the bar.

2. You need top rotate your hips and knees out and force them to stay open best you can through the entire movement.

3. I personally suggest getting out of the Vibrams and getting into a solid flat soled shoe.

4. I recommend you pull your elbows under the bar a bit more rather than chicken winging them.

[quote]Reed wrote:
Your Deadlift looks fairly well however I am no expert on it by any means. How ever it does appear that your Glutes and Hams are weak compared and it is causing that awkward transition you have to make at the top right before lockout.

As for your Squat