Squat and Deadlift Critique

I know some back rounding is allowable when using heavier weights, but I’m wondering if I have too much. I feel soreness in more my mid back and not my lower back, so that’s telling me those muscle are working more, however, I’d like to hear what you guys think.

Also, what are some other pointers you’d give me? Feel free to watch my other vids and critique those as well.

I’m not experienced enough yet to critique your form but LOL @ the guy in the first vid quarter squatting 25s.

[quote]JLu wrote:
I’m not experienced enough yet to critique your form but LOL @ the guy in the first vid quarter squatting 25s.[/quote]

Not everyone’s on ‘roid, bro’.

No, but when you’re as big as that guy is and you are only quarter squatting 25s it either means you’re 1) tremendously weak, or 2) extremely lazy and unwilling to put any effort into your workout.

Deadlifts: Rounding too much, almost like you are doing a stiff legged-deadlift. Need to keep your chest up, shoulders over the bar, bring your ass lower down, keep your back angle the same as you pull the bar up your shins, when you get to the knees you will begin to squeeze your glutes and push your hips forward

(like you are humping the air almost), your back and legs should almost straighten out at the same time.

Plus, why do you drop the weight? Lowering the weight properly is part of the movement.

Squats: I can’t comment on the box squats since I don’t do them much but for the regular squats they seem pretty decent, I’d try to go a tad lower though.

Back squat does need a little more depth. The pulls looked ok assuming heavy means you can’t lift it more than 3 times. There’s going to be some rounding but you seem to do it more middle than lower back which is good. And don’t lean back at lockout, just stand up straight.

The guy with the 95lb 1/4 squat is classic gym idiot. But it’s February so he’s almost done for the year anyway.

[quote]