Sprinting Routine

I don’t know if this belongs here but I figured strength athletes are more likely to do sprints than say a bodybuilder.

I just started today and did something like:

100 meters x 2
90 meters x 5

For those of you who perform sprints, what does your routine look like?

What’s your goal with the sprints? Actual speed development or fitness?

When sprinting I have days for- speed endurance, acceleration and top end speed. Acceleration and top end speed days could be done together.

Acceleration:

Sprints up to 25m

Top end speed:

Sprints up to 60m
Flying 20’s/30’s

Speed endurance:
140m-200m

Or could be 50/60m x8 with short rest

This should hopefully get you on your way.

Great thread. I’ve been doing sprints as just about 100% of my cardio for the last 3 years. I still play flag football as well as lift weights, and sprinting seems to help both.

I do them 3x per week.

I keep it simple, just mix in some long, intermediate, and short sprints.

Today, I did (remember, I’ve been doing them 3 years):

8 x 400m sprints, with a 1:30 rest in between each sprint. They take me around 1:15 to complete each one.

8 x 200m sprints. 1:30 rest in between

8 x 60m. Maybe 30 seconds of rest in between.

So, 24 sprints altogether. This took me about 45 minutes.

Good luck!

[quote]ProRaven wrote:
Great thread. I’ve been doing sprints as just about 100% of my cardio for the last 3 years. I still play flag football as well as lift weights, and sprinting seems to help both.

I do them 3x per week.

I keep it simple, just mix in some long, intermediate, and short sprints.

Today, I did (remember, I’ve been doing them 3 years):

8 x 400m sprints, with a 1:30 rest in between each sprint. They take me around 1:15 to complete each one.

8 x 200m sprints. 1:30 rest in between

8 x 60m. Maybe 30 seconds of rest in between.

So, 24 sprints altogether. This took me about 45 minutes.

Good luck![/quote]