Sprinting questions

I’m hoping there are some college level sprinters or coaches out there who can answer
this. If not, perhaps someone at T-mag can
pass this question on to Charlie Francis for one of his
columns.

Q1: what is considered a "good time" for a top univeristy level sprinter? (and I'm not refering to the sorority house party type of 'good time' here. :-)
Q2: how can a person tell if he/she is genetically predisposed for sprinting success?

Reason I ask is because for the past 1&1/2 years I've been replacing 1 of every 4 leg workouts (I train quads & hams together) with a sprinting workout. I go to a local state university track to do this. Yesterday one of the track coaches (he thought I was a student) timed me and said I had a good time and told me I should try out for track. He asked me a bunch of questions about my training. I've never thought of myself as having particulary fast twitch legs. My quads are average or a little below, but my hams grow easily. I don't have time for track, but I'm just curious to see if I have some latent sprinting potnential I wasn't aware of...

A top notch sprinter usually runs the 100 anywhere from 10.2 to 10 flat.Times for the 200 are usually between 21.2 and 20.2

Thanks for the info. OK, so I’m not quite a
top notch sprinter :slight_smile: … but not too shabby.

The only way I can think of to test if you’re genetically predisposed to sprinting success, and some will disagree, is with a muscle biopsy. If you’ve never seen one done, a doc or lab tech will use a device to remove a small column of muscle tissue and analyze fibre types. It’s kind of like when geologists take a column from the groumd to see the layers of rock, sediment, etc. From this, the tech can see what ratio of fast twitch : slow twitch fibres you have. Granted that’s not the only component of sprinting.