Sprained MCL in October - Still in Pain

I am fairly new to T-Nation so I am not sure if there are any guidelines for posting injury related things.

Long story:

I sprained my MCL a year ago in April 2010 and then again in jiu jitsu October 30, 2011 when my knee popped out during some sparring. I went to an orthopedic and was told that it was just a sprain. There was swelling and a lot of pain but nothing came up on the MRI as abnormal. I didn’t go to therapy, wore a brace and did some simple exercises at home. BW squats, foam rolling, etc. 5 months later and now both of my knees are in a lot of pain whenever I squat, kneel, bend, twist and now even when I sleep on my stomach. The ortho said that I have patella alta, meaning my patella tendons are too long making my whole knee instable but I have never had any knee pain before.

I am creating this thread to ask if anyone has had a similar experience and can hopefully tell me that it will just take a long time to heal and that I should be patient or should I get a second opinion on a different cause of the pain and discomfort?

Short story:
Sprained MCL twice, still having a lot of pain after 5 months when squatting and kneeling.

Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions!

~Disco

[quote]DiscoDani wrote:
I didn’t go to therapy, wore a brace and did some simple exercises at home. BW squats, foam rolling, etc. /quote]

First mistake. Although I don’t know what you did for your self-prescribed rehab, but based on the fact that you still have pain 5 months later and now it is in both knees, you probably would significantly benefit from some manual therapy.

It doesn’t necessarily mean your patellar tendons are too long, though they may be excessively lengthened. It usually means your hip flexors/quads are too tight/restricted and are pulling your patella superiorly, placing additional, undue stress on your patellar tendons.

When was your MRI? After the first or second injury?

[quote]LevelHeaded wrote: