Sports Psychology and Strength Coaching

Can any of the strength coaches or any coach who works with athletes answer a few questions in how they use sports psychology in their field of work? I am a student currently studying sports psychology? Any input would greatly appreciated?

1. How do you keep your athletes motivated?

2. Do you have a sports psychology background? If so, how do you use it in your field of work?

3. What procedures do you take when an athlete injuries himself or herself? What if the injury is career threatening?

4. What are some of the signs and symptoms that you monitor in the athlete to avoid the overtraining syndrome?

5. How do you approach goal setting?

6. At what point in the strength and conditioning season is the athlete most susceptible to overtrain and why?

7. When is training arousal good and detrimental to performance and how do you make note of it when the athlete is training?

8. What strategies do you practice to make the athlete adhere to a strength and conditioning program?

9. Do you use imagery techniques in your field of work?

Im going to take a shot at most of your questions:

How do you keep your athletes motivated?

Keep workouts fresh and always looking to show growth even if its something small. Small movement in strength always leads to bigger gains in the future.

Do you have a sports psychology background? If so, how do you use it in your field of work?

No do not have a degree but have some excellent doctors in the rolodex to use for resources.

What procedures do you take when an athlete injuries himself or herself? What if the injury is career threatening?