Sports Nutrition Class

So sport nutrition is a required class for the exercise science major at my school. I’m not complaining as I am no expert, but a few of the thinks my teacher has told us seem to conflict with the info that I’ve learned here. A quick example being you only need about 1 gram of protein per kilogram of body weight. I know a lot of guys around here including myself have a lot more than that in a day.

He has also gone on to say that supplements like BCAA’s and L-glutamine are a waste because by taking them other amino acids might not be absorbed. He went on to say something like there are channels in you intestines which absorb the different amino acids, and if you single out one of them (ie leucine) then the absorption of others might not happen.

This guy has his masters in Kinesiology/Clinical Exercise Physiology and his PhD in Kinesiology/Exercise Physiology. I’m not knocking this guy, I’m just questioning the info, he’s a really nice guy, but like I said, the info kind of conflicts. But maybe I’m wrong, and its not conflicting and I’m just not getting it.

By the way this is a Sport Nutrition class, not some basic nutrition class focusing on the the average population.

Tell me what you guys think.

yea man u will see this alot in these type of classes… the answer simply being this is what they learned and thats what they will teach.

try talking to him about the things he says in class. do not argue with him! that will just make your life a living hell in that class. instead bring in articles to back your claims and (most likely) he will respect what you have to say.

some people confuse a lot of issues and cannot see clearly. other problems are that it is hard to actually get people to do something consistently while you are trying to study them so researchers will often ignore the human factor and a lot of poor studies are done.