Spiraling Into Depression. Help?

Hey guys. I’ve been lifting for about 2 years and I’m 19 years old. Went from 135 to 175 pounds which I’m pretty proud of. Never really had any serious injuries to keep me out of the gym except minor stuff like weak rotator cuffs that hurt or pulling something and letting it recover for a few days, then it was fine. But for the past 2 weeks I’ve had a shoulder problem in my right shoulder, the pt said it may be a capsule strain or something like that so i have stretches to do a couple times a day and they’re helping. I also have tendonitis or tennis elbow in my right elbow which hurts only when I do tricep isolation.

Things that were fun aren’t fun anymore. I don’t find the joy in life that I used to, and my girlfriend says I’m getting distant and is worried that I’m going to break up with her, which I’m not. I almost can’t stand to look in the mirror because I just imagine and see myself getting smaller after taking 2 weeks off. I just need some sort of lifting, it was the thing I looked forward to most in the day. I thought about taking up biking or something like that. What do you guys think I should do? Anything would be appreciated, thanks.

Jack

If not being able to lift weights for two weeks, is causing a spiraling depression. Maybe it is time to find something to give more depth and well roundedness to your life. Like spending times with friends, family, and your girlfriend being as intimate and open hearted as you can.

I feel like a lot of guys who lift identify with being “the guy who lifts” or “the guy with the big shoulders” or “the guy with six pack abs” and when that’s taken away from them, so is their “identity” which can lead to a mental crisis. It can be that way with anything “the guy who makes a million bucks a year” loses his job and falls into a depression, because he values his salary more than he values himself. The athlete who is paralyzed in a car accident and can no longer do what he loves.