T Nation

Spinning Wheels

This is my first post here although I have been creeping the boards for awhile!

I know I am going to get some **** for posting this but I am prepared for it :slightly_smiling:

Stats:
Pic: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/5/5811edit.jpg/
Height: 71inches
Weight: 80kg
BF: 20%(electric scales)
Main goal: Size and muscle but toned.

Issue:

I have been spinning my wheels now for like 2 years changing up routines, got too fat off a very rookie bulk and now just been trying to cut the fat back off and really want to get down to at least 15% before trying a much more clean and slow bulk.

So question 1 is do you guys think this is the right strategy? I have read lots of different opinions about this!

Question 2 is can you recommend any routines? Like I say I have been training over 2 years on and off but due to spinning my wheels my lifts are still **** weights lol.

I have tried starting strength in the past but I have lower back issues and it has so much volume on the lower back I couldnt get out of bed some days because my back would just seize up! Has anyone else had similar problems or could recommend some solutions if this program is my best route?

Any help and advice will be greatly appreciated because my mind is full of all the different things I have read thats all just 1 big mess.

Thanks guys!

Dan

i know your main goal is size/definition but if you're saying that your lifts are still shit after 2 years i'd focus on strength for the moment until you get your lifts to a level where you can put on some serious size. I'll admit i'm still trying to gain strength as i know i'm not strong enough to go on a pure hypertrophy program and get the full benifits from it. I currently train 5/3/1 Dave Tates periodization version. Main focus on strength but with some hypertrophy work thrown in too.