Speed Training Periodization

I’m having trouble piecing together a program for gaining speed. I’m 5’7 145lbs 8-9% bodyfat. I’ve been doing Meltdown training to slash bodyfat. I’m planning to tryout for a few probaseball teams but need to increase my 60 yrds speed greatly. I’m dreaming of like a 6.7 60. I’m sure my 60 yard time sucks now, I haven’t timed it but I did get timed in the 40 @ a 5.33 recently. (not great at all) I want to focus on all my lower body lifts because my poundages suck. i.e squat 275(legs shoulder width), powercling 140 reps of 3, goodmornings 115 reps of 5. I can tell I have a muscle imbalance between my quads/hamms. Also lower back is fairly week. I’m sure you can see why I want to focus on these lifts but Charlie Francis says I shouldn’t get too far away from the actual sprinting. hmm I’m chronically tight in my legs and I’m starting to stretch my legs twice a week. I wanted to get stronger then possibly work on speed endurance since these are probably my worst factors. I’m hoping my poundages will go up quick since I lost alot of strength while dieting. All help appreciated. Thanks LM

You need to focus on your hamstring and low back strength. Make sure you are doing plenty of Glute-ham raises, reverse hypers, and good mornings. I would recommend you begin using westside style training with some slight modifications. You are really going to need to build you speed-strength and explosive-strength if you’re going to impress the scouts. Go to Dave Tate’s website (elitefitnesssystems) and start learning. There is a sports specific Q&A sections that will also help you. Best of Luck.